The Official Karelia
  Русская версияEnglish versionSuomalainen versio
  |About Karelia |Symbols   |Tourism |  Cooperation |

From July 21 till July 31 the XXXII International Onego sailing regatta Onego - 2003 will be held in Petrozavodsk

From July 21 till July 31 the XXXII International Onego sailing regatta Onego - 2003 - the Open championship of Russia among the cruiser yachts organized by the State committee of the Russian Federation on Physical Culture and Sports, the State Committee of the RK on Physical Culture, Sport and Tourism, the All-Russian Sailing Federation and Sailing Federation of the Republic of Karelia will be held in Petrozavodsk. The republican organizing committee on preparation and realization of the regatta is headed by the Head of the RK S.Katanandov.

For the first time Mikro-vessels will take part in the regatta. Traditionally Onego sailing regatta will define winners and prize-winners in 7 nominations. The Onego - 2003 regatta is held within the framework of the celebratory events devoted to the 300th anniversary of Petrozavodsk. On the preliminary data vessels of Moscow bank regatta, about 20 yachts of Saint Petersburg, two crews from Finland, 12 from Petrozavodsk and about 10 yachts from other cities of Russia will participate. It is possible to speak confidently about arrival of visitors from distant foreign countries: German yacht Petrina that came on the regatta in 2000, and Norwegian yacht Christiania. After the end of the regatta the family crew from Norway plans to continue their way on the round tourist route around Scandinavia. Within the past ten years more than 50 foreign vessels have passed it.

The holiday mood of the yachtsmen was saddened with news about death of Ikar Vasilievich Riskin. One of the Onego - 2003 regatta laps will be devoted to the memory of famous yachtsman who fro many years headed the Onego regatta committee.

This year about 80 racing yachts is expected on the Onego regatta which is the record for the last ten years. The program includes five races which total extent makes 400 test miles. (For comparison: in the first Onego regatta held in 1972 only eight yachts were on the start of the unique hundred-mile regatta.)

The first lap of Onego - 2003 will start on July 22 at 18.00 after solemn opening of the regatta which is held on July 22 at 17.00 on the Quay of Onego Lake, opposite to the Polar Odysseus ark. Traditionally citizens of Petrozavodsk and visitors of the city can watch the start of the 16-sea-miles-long prologue race in Petrozavodsk bay of Onego Lake. On July 23 participants of the second race should pass 114 sea miles from Petrozavodsk to the settelement of Shalsky. On July 25 from Shalsky the yachts will go to Brusno island, the third race will be one hundred miles long. Day of rest on the picturesque island will be notable for the festival of bardic songs. On July 27 the yachts will go another 100 miles from Brusno island to Suisari island. The last fifth race to Petrozavodsk will be held on July 30 (70 sea miles). Approximately since midnight and up noon of the next day it will be possible to watch returning of yachts to the capital of Karelia.

Traditionally Karelian press photographers and journalists will reflect the fascinating and gripping show in press. Arrival of three film crews of the central telechannels of Russia is expected. In the fall the Sailing Federation of Karelia plans to organize the photo-exhibition devoted to the Onego regatta.

On July 15 in the Boardroom of the Government of the RK final session of the Regatta Organizing Committee will be held at 12.00, and upon its end the journalists will be able to ask questions to the organizers of the regatta and receive accreditation (escort of prologue race on a separate vessel).

On July 18 at 17.00 on Ship's Boy of the North judicial vessel the press conference of participants and organizers of Onego - 2003 will be held. The journalists should gather at the River Station entrance.

Larisa Krasavtseva

Technical support
Created: July 14, 2003. Last updated: July 14, 2003.
© State Committee of the RK for ICT Development, 1998-2015