The Official Karelia
  Русская версияEnglish versionSuomalainen versio
  |About Karelia |Symbols   |Tourism |  Cooperation |

The XXXVI International Sailing Regatta Onego-2007 - the Russian open sailing championship will be launched on July 28

From July 27 to August 5, 2007 Karelia will host the XXXVI International Sailing Regatta Onego-2007 - the Russian open sailing championship. It is organized by Government of the Republic of Karelia, the Sailing Federation of Russia and the Republic of Karelia, Petrozavodsk city administration. The organizational committee of the regatta is traditionally headed by the Head of the Republic of Karelia Sergey Katanandov.

As the State Committee on Sports and Youth first vice-president Vasily Filin has told at the briefing in the Government, the regatta will be held within eight days in territory of Onego lake. During this period of time the yacht will go the distance exceeding 350 sea miles. Total, there will be 6 races. More than 10 yachts are coming to the regatta on their own, and about 15 yachts will be brought by trailers. The regatta membership may change, but organizers expect crews from Moscow, St.-Petersburg, Rybinsk, Vologda, Cherepovets, Nizhni Novgorod, Belarus and Finland. 7 yachts from Karelia will take part in the regatta: two from Kondopoga and 5 from Petrozavodsk. The regatta committee will be headed by judge from Ekaterinburg Alexey Borisov.

For the first time the Onego Regatta was held in 1972 when eight yachts toed the starting line of the only one 100-mile racing. Today the Onego Regatta is by right considered one of the most prestigious competitions among yachtsmen and has a rank of the open championship of Russia. Its partners are The White Sea - Onego Shipping Company, Inc.,Kondopoga, Inc., Karelstroimekhamizatsiya Joint-Stock Company, Karelsky Okatysh, Inc., Karelenergo, Inc.

This year the championship of Russia at the Onego Regatta is held for cruiser yachts . Among the most strong applicants Vasily Filin has named crews headed by captains Vladimir Lukin and Vyacheslav Rymashevskog. Special monetary prize of 200 thousand roubles founded by the Head of the Republic of Karelia Sergey Katanandov will be awarded in this class.

Official opening of the regatta will take place on July 28, at 3:00p.m. on the quay of Oneg lake near the marina, whence the first racing will start. The ceremony will start an hour earlier at 2:00p.m. with performance of Kantele Song and Dance National Ensemble of Karelia. The Regatta closing and awarding of winners will take place on August 5, at 3:00p.m. in the State Philarmonic Society of the RK.

All official information regaring the regatta are on the site of the Sailing Federation of the RK

Technical support
Created: July 16, 2007. Last updated: July 17, 2007.
© State Committee of the RK for ICT Development, 1998-2015